In New Jersey Senate Bill #119 was approved by the state legislature for the regulation of medical marijuana and signed to become law by then Governor Jon Corzine in January of 2010 — it became law six months later in June of 2011.
The law is designed to protect patients who have been prescribed medical marijuana to help in alleviating debilitating symptoms stemming from a variety of diseases. The law also provides protections against physicians who prescribe medicinal marijuana and its derivatives, and those who cultivate, process, and proved medical marijuana under the supervision of the New Jersey Department of Health.
In New Jersey medical marijuana is not covered by Medicaid.
A total of six alternative treatment centers for the dispensing of medical marijuana will be established; 2 in the north, 2 in the middle of the state; and 2 in the southern part of the state. Registration fee is $200.00 for two years; it is $20.00 for state residents on federal or state assistance. New Jersey does not recognize out of state ID cards.
The conditions under which medical marijuana may be prescribed and used include:
Lou Gehrig’s disease; multiple sclerosis; terminal cancer; inflammatory bowel disease; Crohn’s disease; muscular dystrophy; Tourette’s Syndrome; any physician-diagnosed illness that has a high probability of a terminal outcome within twelve months; migraines; chronic pain and anxiety that has not responded to more traditional medical treatment.